General Education Program

Strengthening intellectual, creative and professional lives

GE Task Force 2017-18

In February of 2017, the Provost formed the General Education (GE) Task Force in response to GE Program Review and the review team's conclusions and recommendations. The Task Force includes students, faculty, and staff members representing all six of Cal Poly's colleges as well as the GE Governance Board, University Diversity and Inclusion, University Advising, University Registrar, and Academic Programs. The Provost charged the Task Force with Recommending a new vision for breadth education at Cal Poly. Work by the Task force will continue through the end of the 2017-18 academic year. At that time, the group will present its vision to the Provost and Academic Senate.

GE Task Force Membership

Name department college Position
Gregg Fiegel Civil/Env Eng & Honors Program Director CENG CO-Chair
Andrew Morris History CLA CO-Chair
Daniel Peterson Animal Science CAFES College Rep
Margot McDonald Architecture/Department Chair CAED College Rep
Peter Schuster Mechanical Engineering CENG College Rep
Josh Machamer Theatre and Dance/Department Chair 
Past GEGB Chair
CLA College Rep
Stamatis Vokos Physics CSM College Rep
Beena Khurana MBA Program Director OCOB College Rep
Brenda Helmbrecht English & Writing Director
GEGB Chair
Laura Lodolo Student/Biological Sciences CSM Student Rep
Sarah Morningred Student/English CLA Student Rep
Haley Warner Student/AG Ed & Communication CAFES Student Rep
Bruno Giberti Associate Vice Provost, Academic Programs and Planning Academic
Admin Rep
Cem Sunata Registrar Office of
Admin Rep
Beth Merritt Miller Assistant Vice Provost University
Admin Rep
Desise Isom Interim Co-Director
University Diversity & Inclusivity
Ethnic Studies/Chair
CLA Admin Rep

Related Content

<script type="text/javascript">
  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-42881706-1']);
  (function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
    ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '';
    var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);