General Education Program

Strengthening intellectual, creative and professional lives

GEGB Meeting Schedule and Minutes (2018-19)

General Education Governance Board Meetings


Spring 2019

Date items discussed time location approved minutes (pdf)
Thursday, June 13, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, June 6, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, May 30, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, May 23, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, May 16, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, May 9, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m 35-511  
Thursday, May 2, 2019   4:10 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, April 25, 2019   3:30 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, April 18, 2019   3:30 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, April 11, 2019   3:30 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241  
Thursday, April 4, 2019
  • Update on presentation to Academic Senate Executive Committee

  • Revising GE outcomes and course design requirements

3:30 - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes

Winter 2019

Date Items Discussed Time Location approved minutes (pdf)
Thursday, March 21, 2019
  • GE template update

  • GE resolution structure

  • Presentation of template to Academic Senate Executive Committee

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, March 14, 2019
  • GE Objectives and Criteria

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 35-511 Minutes
Thursday, March 7, 2019
  • Template for high-unit programs, writing intensive requirements in GE, educational objectives and course design requirements

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, March 1, 2019
  • Requirements for high-unit programs

10:10 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

10-241

Minutes

Thursday, February 28, 2019
  • Draft of the new GE template

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

10-241

Minutes

Thursday, February 21, 2019

  • High-unit programs, prefix requirements in GE areas C and D, USCP overlay, and options for the 8 "extra" units Cal Poly has by way of the semester-to-quarter equivalency 

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

10-241

Minutes

Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Course Proposals (PHIL 230)

  • GE Template for Regular and High-Unit Programs (subarea designators)

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 35-511 Minutes
Thursday, February 7, 2019
  • Course Proposals (PHIL 230, CM 333, ARCH 120, RELS 180)

  • GE Report Overview and Structure

  • Writing Intensive Courses (with university-wide writing representatives)

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 35-511 Minutes
Thursday, January 31, 2019
  • Review of Area D and Area E and GEGB considerations

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, January 24, 2019
  • Update on work group deadlines

  • Discussion of writing intensive courses in GE

  • Review of Area B and GEGB considerations

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, January 17, 2019
  • Update on GE Pathway work group membership

  • GE work group progress reports

  • Review of Area C and GEGB considerations

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 35-511 Minutes
Thursday, January 10, 2019
  • Update on GE Pathway work group membership

  • GE work group progress reports

  • Review of Area A and GEGB considerations

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes

Fall 2018

Topics of Discussion Include:

  • CSU Executive Order EO 1100-R and Cal Poly General Education Template
  • General Education Work Group Formation for the following:
    • Area A
    • Area B
    • Area C
    • Area D/E
    • Diversity and Inclusion in General Education
    • Pathways through General Education
  • Course Review for the 2019-21 Catalog (new courses, edited courses, and deactivation requests)

 

Date items discussed TIME LOCATION approved minutes (PDFs)
Friday, December 7, 2018
  • Discussion of remaining course proposals (new and revised)
11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, December 6, 2018
  • Discussion of GE template units
3:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, November 30, 2018
  • Discussion of remaining CLA course proposals
  • Discussion of OCOB proposals
11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 38-114 Minutes
Thursday, November 29, 2018
  • Work Group Membership Updates
  • GE Task Force Report
  • GE Template Structure
4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, November 23, 2018 No Meeting (Thanksgiving)
Thursday, November 22, 2018 No Meeting (Thanksgiving)
Friday, November 16, 2018
  • Discussion of remaining CLA course proposals
11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, November 15, 2018
  • Update from the Chancellor's Office

  • Work Group Next Steps

  • Upper Division B Update

  • Discussion of Cal Poly template design

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, November 9, 2018 Canceled
Thursday, November 8, 2018 Canceled
Friday, November 2, 2018
  • Course re-submissions

  • Continuation of CLA courses ART through ENGL

11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 38-114 Minutes
Thursday, November 1, 2018
  • Student Representative Appointments for GE Work Groups

  • Discussion of Area D/E Criteria (EO 1100-R criteria and current Cal Poly Outcomes)

  • Includes Summary of Recommendations for the Area D/E Work Group

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, October 26, 2018
  • Course re-submission

  • Discussion of BRAE 349 and slate of ENGL 200- and 300-level courses

11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, October 25, 2018
  • Continuation of GE Work Group Appointments for Diversity and Inclusion

  • Discussion of Area C Criteria (EO 1100-R criteria and current Cal Poly outcomes)

  • Includes Summary of Recommendations for Area C Work Group

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Course re-submissions

  • Discussion of NR 328

11:10 a.m. - 12: 00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, October 18, 2018
  • Appointment of GE Work Group Membership for Area A, B, C, D/E.

  • Diversity and Inclusion appointments as well as student representatives will be appointed at upcoming meetings.

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, October 12, 2018
  • CAFES courses

11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 38-114 Minutes

Thursday, October 11, 2018

  • Discussion of Area B Criteria (EO 1100-R criteria and current Cal Poly outcomes)

  • Includes Summary of Recommendations for Area B Work Group

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, October 5, 2018
  • Course re-submissions

  • Discussion of CAED courses

11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 38-114 Minutes
Thursday, October 4, 2018
  • Discussion of Area A Criteria (EO 1100-R criteria and current Cal Poly outcomes)

  • Includes Summary of Recommendations for Area A Work Group

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Friday, September 28, 2018
  • Courses proposed for deactivation

  • Discussion of CSM courses

11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, September 27, 2018
  • Discussion of EO 1100-R and status of Cal Poly's current GE program in each area.

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes
Thursday, September 20, 2018 (Orientation)
  • Fall Quarter Schedule

  • GE Work Group Formations

  • Curricular Proposals

4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 10-241 Minutes

2017-18 Membership Roster

2017-18 Meeting Schedule with Approved Minutes

Related Content

<script type="text/javascript">
 
  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-42881706-1']);
  _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);
 
  (function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
    ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js';
    var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);
  })();
 
</script>